This lovely little effort didn’t exist pre-1820, nor is there any trace of it left today, amazingly enough. Hawthorn Tower(s), originally known as Hawthorn Cottage, was built in 1821 to the designs of John Dobson for Major George Anderson, a Newcastle big-wig. Anderson died in 1831, but his wife lived on in the property until her death in the 1850s – afterwhich the Pembertons assumed ownership and renamed it Hawthorn Tower(s). At some point in the 1850s, it was also extended in size.
In 1910, the Pembertons vacated the premsies, and let the pile out, firstly, to colliery agent Malcolm Dillon, then to another colliery official, Mr Henegan. In 1930, the Boys' Brigade rented the Tower for weekend camps, and it was used during World War II by the military and the Home Guard. The Pembertons then returned briefly, before selling up in c.1949 to a
South Shields man. Several more sales followed, during which period the house fell into a state of decay. Vandals help send the structure to its ultimate demolition in 1969 after a man was killed by a partial collapse. Today nothing remains. It’s as if the old place never existed.
There’s a fair bit more to be found on
– including the nineteenth century census returns for the structure – at the DurhamRecordsOnline website, here. Hawthorn Tower(s)